Uwharrie Mountain Biking Trip

      October 23, 2001 Uwharrie Mountain Bike Trip

Saturday we got up early at 6am.  We got ready and went to Outdoor Adventures.  There we attended a brief meeting and then piled into the van.  We drove down to the center of North Carolina to the Uwharrie Mountains.  We got out and practiced riding around a bit before we started down the trail.  The loop was easy, except the long hill upward at the last.  My legs began to cramp and I got tired too quickly.

In any case, the scenery was absolutely breathtaking.  The fall leaves were at their peak and brilliant to behold.  Despite the pain and tiredness, I was still happy to be outside in nature enjoying the beautifully warm and colorful day.

After that loop, we sat around, rested and ate.  We talked and joked about cheese, spontaneous combustion and, of course, bike riding.  After lunch we started the second trail, which was much harder.  We biked up a very long and tiring incline early on.  I was so tired that I ended up walking up most of the hills on the second trail.  I simply didn’t have the power to peddle any further.  I got very frustrated with myself at not being able to bike as easily as I could hike.  Jason and the trip leaders were very patient with me though.  We finished at 3:30pm and headed home.

About carilynn27

Reading and writing and writing about reading are my passion. I've been keeping a journal since I was 14. I also write fiction and poetry. I published my first collection of short stories, "Radiant Darkness" in 2000. I followed that up with my first collection of poetry in 2001 called "Journey without a Map." In 2008, I published "Persephone's Echo" another collection of poetry. Since then I've also published Emotional Espionage, The Way The Story Ended, My Perfect Drug and Out There. I have my BA in English from The Ohio State University at Mansfield and my MA in English Lit from The University of North Carolina at Greensboro. I also have my Post BA Certificate in Women's Studies. I am the mother of two beautiful children. :-)
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Uwharrie Mountain Biking Trip

  1. Looks like you are having fun with your mountain biking trip! I enjoy looking at these photos and I hope there’ll be more in future. I am getting ready for my own tour soon! Just browsing around for inspiration and I plan to get a new bike after I am back from the tour.

Leave a Reply

