Myrtle Beach

July 22, 2001 Myrtle Beach

Saturday we got up early and left by 9am.  We stopped at my bank and Jason’s bank before getting gas and heading out.  We took 220 South to Rockingham and then 74 and 35 down into South Carolina.  We hit lots of traffic back-ups and jams once on 501.  We found Highway 7, but went the wrong way on it.  Finally we found Ocean Blvd and set out to find a hotel for the night.  We stopped at Bermuda Sands first since they advertised $84 on the net.  They had one room that they wouldn’t rent out for less than three nights, so we moved on.  We stopped at a Holiday Inn, but they had no rooms.  Then the lady remembered that she did have one room, but it was ocean side for $169.  Not wanting to hunt all day for a potentially crappy room, we decided to go ahead and spend the extra cash for the room.

Once we settled into our room, we changed and went down to the beach to swim.  The blue waves rolled onto the shore, breaking into white crests.  We ventured out into the rolling waves to play for a bit.  The waves were bigger than they had been back in North Carolina it seemed.

I thought back to not a quite a year ago when I first went to the ocean. My experience reflected my emotions or state of mind at that time I think.  I was adjusting to the big move.  If you are a sailor or fisherman or sea voyager you have to understand the sea.  Knowing the tides, currents and weather would be considered handy if not necessary as well.  I am, as we all are, that traversing the seas of our inner selves.  The ocean is a perfect metaphor for emotions and not just because it comes in waves!

Emotions are a force of nature, they are the life-force within—the God or Goddess within.  Emotions and our understanding of them makes us special and sets us apart from the other animals.  All things have an energy or current of emotion flowing through them, but humans are the only ones who have the intellectual capacity to understand them.  This balance of emotions and intellect makes us superior.

Knowledge is useless without passion and passion is useless without knowledge.  So being successful means know why are successful.

Anyway, we grew tired and went back to our blanket to lay out a bit and dry out.  Then we went back to our hotel room to change.  I bought a new bathing suit while we were out, a t-shirt and postcards at the beach shop. Then we went out to eat at a seafood buffet before returning to our room to nap.  About 10pm we left to cruise the strip.  It was bumper to bumper traffic it moved along slower than I walked.  It made our cruise frustrating to say the least.  We were going to go to a club or something, but the changed our minds.  We went back to the hotel room.  We decided to go for a nice quiet stroll along the beach.  I felt like bursting with love as we walked.  I looked at Jason and was overwhelmed with love for him.  The sand was soft and cool beneath our feet and the breeze warm and gentle.  You couldn’t ask for a more perfect moment. Well, maybe less people on the beach, but other than that….

We returned to the hotel and went back to bed—cuddling close that night.  At 8am we woke up and got ready and then went for breakfast at the hotel restaurant.  Both of us had French toast.  Then it was off to go parasailing at 10am.

The take off spot was just down the way from the hotel—not far at all.  We paid and put on our life jackets.  The jet skier pulled us and another couple on the banana boat to the bigger boat just off the shore.  It was my maiden Ocean Voyage and it went well.  They hooked us into our harnesses and set up the parachute before letting the rope outward slowly.  The boat moved and we began to lift up into the air.  We lifted up high above the water in no time.  It was a fantastic sight.  Up above the ocean it was quiet and very peaceful as we drifted and floated.  We took in the sites and enjoyed it to the fullest.  About 15 or 20 minutes later we were pulled in.  It was too soon.  I wish we could have stayed up a lot longer.

After we landed we stayed on the boat as the other four people went.  I enjoyed the boat ride, but Jason got sea sick. After an hour out at sea, the sea-do came to get us.  We climbed aboard and got very wet and ride back.  We got our stuff from the rental place and then went back to the hotel.

After checking out and packing up the car, we went swimming one more time.  It was a lot of fun.  I was getting a hang of catching the waves.  Though when I did get hit, the salt water stung my eyes a bit.  Even with my eyes closed tightly they stung a bit.  Soon I tired and we returned to the shore.  We laid there on our blanket letting the sun dry us as we relaxed.  At about 1pm we left.

The drive home wasn’t bad.  We stopped at Wendy’s, but then got stuck in another traffic jam.  Once the traffic started flowing again it went quickly though.  We even stopped at a road side stand for Peaches and Peach Ice Cream.

 

About carilynn27

Reading and writing and writing about reading are my passion. I've been keeping a journal since I was 14. I also write fiction and poetry. I published my first collection of short stories, "Radiant Darkness" in 2000. I followed that up with my first collection of poetry in 2001 called "Journey without a Map." In 2008, I published "Persephone's Echo" another collection of poetry. Since then I've also published Emotional Espionage, The Way The Story Ended, My Perfect Drug and Out There. I have my BA in English from The Ohio State University at Mansfield and my MA in English Lit from The University of North Carolina at Greensboro. I also have my Post BA Certificate in Women's Studies. I am the mother of two beautiful children. :-)
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

