Sunset Beach

June 30, 2002 Sunset Beach

At long last I’ve managed to harness the energy of ocean!  Well, in a way anyway.  I’ve learned enough about it to actually catch and ride the waves.  This is a big step really because it takes swimming in the ocean a few times just to get used to dealing with the waves.  Unlike lakes and pools, you can’t really stand in one place.  The ocean constantly moves and so must you.  Always be aware and always be flexible.  Good advice for dealing with the ocean and your emotions as well.

Saturday I got up at 8am and got ready to go to the beach!  We have been to Oak Island and Holden Beach in 2000 and 2001 respectively.  And then Myrtle Beach in 2001 as well.  This year we thought we’d try Sunset Beach.

Only three miles long, Sunset Beach is the southernmost of the three barrier islands known as the South Brunswick Islands. However, the Town of Sunset Beach is comprised of several square miles of mainland as well. Pastel colored cottages and homes nestled by the sea oat covered dunes line the oceanfront. You can lounge on the beach or hunt for sea shells or build sand castles by the shoreline.

We left at 9:15am and arrived around 2pm.  Right away we parked and went swimming.  At about 4pm we left the beach hungry and tired.  We found a nice motel to stay at.  They had just one vacancy for $84 plus tax.  It was a nice room with a kitchenette and everything.  After checking in we hopped in the car and went to Calabash for dinner.  I had the buffet at the Sea Food Restaurant.  Then it was back to the motel.  I tried to nap while Jason watched a race on TV.

Later, we took a long walk on the beach in the dark.  Though Jason says he isn’t romantic in nature, I found the experience very romantic indeed.  On the way back to the motel we stopped at the market for donuts. I was fast asleep before midnight.

I woke up around 9am and ate the donuts we’d bought the night before.  I showered and then we gathered all our things and checked out about 10:30am. We checked out kayak rentals and decided to pass this time.  I got a surf board instead.  It was $15 for half a day to rent it.  Jason gave me some pointers since he did have some experience body boarding in Rhode Island.  Despite slipping off the board and getting knocked off by the waves, I did manage to ride a couple of waves to shore.  Too bad I couldn’t stand up while I was riding the waves! Oh well, next time!

Both of us had lots of fun, except when Jason got stung by a jellyfish.  All a part of the ocean experience Jason claimed.  He said it hurt like hell, but he is okay.  We headed home about 1:30pm.  I am in the car writing this.  It is 4pm and we are nearly home now.  Anyway, I think that Sunset Beach is now my favorite island out of all the barrier islands.  I can’t wait to go back!

About carilynn27

Reading and writing and writing about reading are my passion. I've been keeping a journal since I was 14. I also write fiction and poetry. I published my first collection of short stories, "Radiant Darkness" in 2000. I followed that up with my first collection of poetry in 2001 called "Journey without a Map." In 2008, I published "Persephone's Echo" another collection of poetry. Since then I've also published Emotional Espionage, The Way The Story Ended, My Perfect Drug and Out There. I have my BA in English from The Ohio State University at Mansfield and my MA in English Lit from The University of North Carolina at Greensboro. I also have my Post BA Certificate in Women's Studies. I am the mother of two beautiful children. :-)
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

