Vail

January 4, 2010 Blue Moon

This year began with a Blue Moon.  Technically 2009 ended with a Blue Moon, but it was the 2nd Full Moon of December.  So a Full Moon also greeted the New Year.  A Blue Moon simply means two full moons in one calendar month, but there is magic attached to it as well.  Since it is such an infrequent occurrence, it is seen as special. Often people say “Once in a Blue Moon” for something that occurs rarely.  The moon only looks blue if there is smoke in the air, particularly in the upper atmosphere.

Full Moons have long been a source of superstition blue or not.  Full moons are associated with werewolves, witches, magic, madness and even romance.  It was considered good luck to get married during a full moon, but bad luck for a woman to lay by the water alone if she were single.  A child, possibly a monster, could be conceived in the moonlight alone!  However, a child born during a full moon is considered to be strong.  You should never commit a robbery during a full moon for sure you will be caught.

I love the moon.  It is my zodiac sign after all.  It represents the feminine and all that is emotional.  I used to bathe in moonlight.  I would close my eyes and dream about my future love.  How I longed for that sensitive soul to touch me tenderly.  I imagined his strong arms around me and I’d imagine that he’d protect me from the cruel world.  Under the light of the moon, anything was possible.

It seems fitting that the postcards I picked to buy from Vail, Colorado, were of the full moon shinning down on the pristine snow covered mountains!  Jason desired to explore the famous vacation spot, so off we went on January 1st for a two hour drive to check it out.  We stopped along with way and took pictures of the gorgeous views.  It was the first time we’d been in the mountains while there was snow everywhere. We didn’t have enough cash to ski.  We spent nearly $100 as it was between the gas money to get there, parking and lunch alone.  We had fun though.

The Vail Village was good size surprisingly. I got postcards at the Welcome Center and Info Desk.  We walked part of the way and then took the free bus to the other end of the village.  I was surprised to see that Vail had its own hospital.  I suppose it makes sense with all the ski-related injuries that probably happen.  Anyway, we saw not only beautiful scenery, but many hotels and gift shops as well. We took the free gondola ride to the top of the mountain.  It looked to be a long, steep and impressive ski run. I look forward to getting a chance to ski down it one day.

We ate at the Red Lion Inn.  It offered outdoor seating as well as indoor.  Though it was crowded and quite noisy inside, it was too cold to sit outside in my opinion.  There was a football game on the TV and many people were cheering on their favorite team.  The food was good even if it was overpriced.  The history of the place interesting as well. It had been there a long time.

Vail also offers wedding packages.  I told Jason that I wouldn’t mind renewing our vows there in Vail.  Although Jason liked the idea, he was skeptical that we would ever be able to afford  such an affair.  He was more enthusiastic over the possibility of being able to go mountain biking there or go white water rafting during the summer months.

We got to Vail around noon that Sunday and left around 3:30 pm.  The drive home felt like forever since traffic was backed up on I-70.  It took something like four hours to get home even though it only should have taken two.  I read The White Queen by Philippa Gregory while the kids napped. We got home after dark hungry and tired.  Overall, it was a good day though.

About carilynn27

Reading and writing and writing about reading are my passion. I've been keeping a journal since I was 14. I also write fiction and poetry. I published my first collection of short stories, "Radiant Darkness" in 2000. I followed that up with my first collection of poetry in 2001 called "Journey without a Map." In 2008, I published "Persephone's Echo" another collection of poetry. Since then I've also published Emotional Espionage, The Way The Story Ended, My Perfect Drug and Out There. I have my BA in English from The Ohio State University at Mansfield and my MA in English Lit from The University of North Carolina at Greensboro. I also have my Post BA Certificate in Women's Studies. I am the mother of two beautiful children. :-)
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

