Kidspree

Kidspree For Free!

The past three years that we’ve been in Colorado, we have taken the kids to Aurora’s annual outdoor kids festival known as the Kidspree.  It takes place in a large field known as Bicentennial Park off Alameda Avenue.  I hear that it is in its 50th year already!  And is no surprise why.  Admission is free.  The only thing that costs money usually is the food and drinks that are available on-site.  Parking can be a a bit of pain, but there is always some near-by side street that is free to park on.  You may have to walk a few blocks to get to the festival though.  No biggie.

Each year they have different children’s characters for the kids to meet.  The first year Sponge Bob was supposed to be there, but we missed him.  The second year we saw Batman and Robin.  The third year, we saw Storm Troopers from Star Wars.  Jason, I think, was more impressed by the Storm Trooper than the kids!

Every year the kids have to wander through the Candyland Maze and pose for a variety of pictures as Candyland characters.  Anastasia, for some reason, likes to go in the exit and confuse the heck out of everybody else.  And Sebastian followers her wherever she goes.

Anastasia can’t wait to get her hands on the paints.  Having permission to paint all over   the  cardboard boxes and to get plenty of paint on the art shirts they provide is heaven to her.  Last year Sebastian got in the action and started to enjoy painting as well.

They also have a Musical Petting Zoo.  What the heck is that you ask?  It is a tent filled with all sorts of musical instruments.  The kids get to try each one out and see what they like best.  It is a wonderful learning experience and Ana is thrilled to experiment and make lots of noise without me yelling at her!

They also have an arts and crafts tent in which the kids can make macaroni necklaces, masks, hats and other cool things.  They even have a separate woodworking tent where the kids can fashion birdhouses.    For a crafty girl like my daughter, this is just awesome!  Sebastian will play there a bit, but he’d rather be elsewhere….

Like the giant mound of sand they dump in the parking lot for the kids.  It is better than a sandbox and the kids never want to leave.  They always find lots of other kids to build things with.  Of course, Sebastian gets more of a thrill of destroying all the creations than he does creating them.  Typical.

By the end of the day both parents and kids are worn out, but you better believe that they are begging to go back on the 2nd day for more of the same fun.  Despite the often very hot temperatures of July, we almost always comply and take them back to the Kidspree.  I have often wondered why Mansfield,Ohio never did such a thing. It is a pretty cool idea and easy on the pocket book!

About carilynn27

Reading and writing and writing about reading are my passion. I've been keeping a journal since I was 14. I also write fiction and poetry. I published my first collection of short stories, "Radiant Darkness" in 2000. I followed that up with my first collection of poetry in 2001 called "Journey without a Map." In 2008, I published "Persephone's Echo" another collection of poetry. Since then I've also published Emotional Espionage, The Way The Story Ended, My Perfect Drug and Out There. I have my BA in English from The Ohio State University at Mansfield and my MA in English Lit from The University of North Carolina at Greensboro. I also have my Post BA Certificate in Women's Studies. I am the mother of two beautiful children. :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

