Almost Alias

May 15, 2002 Almost Alias

  I entered the old building and followed the hall around to a door.  Once through that door it was down another hall to another set of doors.  I flung them open and then turned to the stair way, which was behind the door to my left.  I descended the stairs and opened yet another door.  After going half way down another hallway, I found the door I wanted was locked, so I went up the near by flight of stairs up to the offices.  When I did not find an entrance to the room I wanted to get into, I went back down the stairs and back down the hallway to the other stairwell.  I descended yet more stairs to the basement and exited into a small hallway.   I quickly rounded the corner, went through another door, another hallway and through more doors into a large wide open lobby much different from the small dark halls that made up the core of the building.  Finally, I came out of the long building and headed toward the building next door.

No, this was not a scene from Alias, although it could easily have been.  It was me trying to get to the Rosenthal Pool through the Recreation Center at UNCG and then exiting out the other side of the building when I found the pool to be closed!  In any case; Alias has been much on my mind since the season finale on Sunday.  It was a fantastic episode that left me with so many questions!  September is too far away!

Saturday I worked at Barnes and Noble from 11-7:30pm.  I was stuck at the cash register ALL day, but it wasn’t too bad.  We were pretty busy, so the day went fast.  I even had my 5 min of fame!  A customer recognized me even though I didn’t recognize her.  I guess she bought my book Radiant Darkness and read it.  She liked the story “Death of a Pizzaman” best.  I told her of my new book of poetry, Journey Without A Map and then she left.  It was cool to be recognized.  After work, I came home and chilled.

Sunday I got up and took at easy all day.  I went searching for a Camcorder to record my Graduation Ceremony with.  We found one that would work.  I made collages and watched TV.  Jason and Brad got back from Mountain Biking about 8:30pm.  I watched the Alias Season Finale that night.

Tuesday, I went to work, but again not much work to be done.  I left at 1pm to go swimming, but after finding the pool closed (which I described in the opening scene) I went back around to the Recreation Center to complain.  I worked out, using the elliptical trainer and weights.  I came home to chill then.  Allison and Brad came over at 6:40pm and we went to the free showing of the movie About A Boy with Hugh Grant.  It was funny and touching and I think we all enjoyed it.

It has been a strange week indeed.  Though school has officially ended for me, I am still on campus.  This time is very much an “in between” time.  The place between classes and graduation is an odd one.  Anyway, I am not as tired as I was last week, but I find myself longing for adventure—for newness and trouble even.  I want to have fun and maybe even be bad!   I’ve been pretty good the past few years, but the urge to go wild has never gone away completely.

About carilynn27

Reading and writing and writing about reading are my passion. I've been keeping a journal since I was 14. I also write fiction and poetry. I published my first collection of short stories, "Radiant Darkness" in 2000. I followed that up with my first collection of poetry in 2001 called "Journey without a Map." In 2008, I published "Persephone's Echo" another collection of poetry. Since then I've also published Emotional Espionage, The Way The Story Ended, My Perfect Drug and Out There. I have my BA in English from The Ohio State University at Mansfield and my MA in English Lit from The University of North Carolina at Greensboro. I also have my Post BA Certificate in Women's Studies. I am the mother of two beautiful children. :-)
This entry was posted in Movies/TV and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

