Covert Affairs

April 3, 2012 Covert Affairs

Covert Affairs

Covert Affairs is the name of a USA show I discovered this past week.  It premiered last year on the USA Network, which I don’t get, of course.  I wouldn’t have known the show existed except that I stumbled upon the DVD of Season 1.  The show centers on Annie Walker, a CIA trainee pulled into the field to capture her ex-boyfriend Ben.   Ben, unbeknownst to her, is a rogue agent.  The Scenes in Sri Lanka reminded me of Eat, Pray, Love for some reason.   It does have elements of Alias, but mostly it echoes the Bourne Trilogy since it has some of the same producers.

Nikita

But I still think Nikita is better.  Nikita originally came out as a French Film in 1990.   It was remade into the American Film The Point of No ReturnLa Femme Nikita is a TV series based on the films.  It ran on the USA Network from 1997-2001.  I never got a chance to get into the first series.  Between work and school, I was usually quite busy.   Then they remade Nikita into a new series last year.   It ran on the CW after The Vampire Diaries.   It looked good, but I never stayed up late enough to watch it.  I stumbled upon the DVD of Season 1 at the library and grabbed it up immediately.  I quickly got hooked on it.

Burn Notice 2

Less interesting, but still entertaining is the USA series Burn Notice.   It came out in 2007 and is currently in its 5th Season.   I’ve seen parts of season 1 and 3.  Michael Western was a CIA agent who is burned.   Being burned is not only being fired, but the freezing of all assets and leaving you without an identity essentially.   Western takes side jobs using his agent skills in order to survive.  It is kind of like MacGyver goes Rogue with the Simpson’s sense of humor.

These shows made me long for such an exciting job.  I actually applied to the CIA because of them.  I doubt I will get it, but you never know.  I was thinking of checking the FBI as well.

About carilynn27

Reading and writing and writing about reading are my passion. I've been keeping a journal since I was 14. I also write fiction and poetry. I published my first collection of short stories, "Radiant Darkness" in 2000. I followed that up with my first collection of poetry in 2001 called "Journey without a Map." In 2008, I published "Persephone's Echo" another collection of poetry. Since then I've also published Emotional Espionage, The Way The Story Ended, My Perfect Drug and Out There. I have my BA in English from The Ohio State University at Mansfield and my MA in English Lit from The University of North Carolina at Greensboro. I also have my Post BA Certificate in Women's Studies. I am the mother of two beautiful children. :-)
This entry was posted in Movies/TV and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

