Magical Reading

Magical Reading

Beyond

Beyond Another Door by Sonia Levitin.  Beyond Another Door is about Daria Peterson was usually a level-headed teenager. But a dish she won at a local carnival began to shimmer with a life force of its own, and then suddenly, the face of her dead grandmother appeared. No one believed her, of course. Not her best friend Kelly, or her mother, who was her exact opposite. And as her grandmother revealed things about her mother’s past, about love and loss, Daria began to see her mother in a different light. And with the knowledge came a growing fear of the supernatural and her own growing psychic abilities…

Sonia Levitin was born in Berlin, August 18, 1934, is an award-winning novelist and author of over forty novels and picture books for young adults and children, as well as published essays on various topics for adults. Although I’ve only read one of her books, she written many, including: The Journey to America and Silver Days, a series about a family of German Jewish refugees who flee the horrors of the Holocaust, and The Cure, a story about a boy in the future sent back in time

I remember sitting in a lawn chair at my Uncle’s Steve’s house the July of 1987.  I was wearing a tank top with a blouse over it.  Only the blouse was not buttoned—it was merely tied in a knot at the bottom.  I read Beyond Another Door while family members talked at the gathering.  I remember thinking about the Shelby Fourth of July Festival and being glad I won that Coke cup for 10 cents.  I still have that cup!  Anyway, I connected with character of Daria and wished that I’d discover my own psychic abilities though that Coke cup I’d won.

 Cat's Magic

Cat’s Magic by Margaret GreavesCat’s Magic is about Orphaned Louise Genevieve Higgs goes to stay with her Aunt in the country. She saves a kitten from drowning and gets to travel through time as a reward from the Egyptian Cat Goddess, Bast.  She runs into her great, great Aunt Flora in the past.

 I always had an interest in Egyptian Mythology, so I was pleased to be introduced to another Goddess.  I was also tickled to find out that I too had a great, great Aunt Flora.  Now if only I could meet Bast and travel through time!

 The Ivory Lyre

The Ivory Lyre by Shirley Rousseau Murphy.  The Ivory Lyre is about Dragonbards Tebriel and Kiri who are instrumental in inciting an uprising against the Dark and in locating the magical ivory lyre with the help of four shape-shifting dragons.

Shirley Rousseau Murphy grew up in southern California, riding and showing the horses her father trained. She attended the San Francisco Art institute. Shortly after graduation, she married and worked as an interior designer while her husband attended USC.

I remember going to work with my Grandma the fall of 1989 for some reason.  She was a home health-aide and working at an elderly women’s house for the evening.  I went with her and took The Ivory Lyre with me to read.  I sat on the couch in the dimly lit house and was quickly drawn into the maze of tunnels and passages inside the castle in the book.  The images in that book would later come back to me as I wrote my own fantasy story Tuykame.

About carilynn27

Reading and writing and writing about reading are my passion. I've been keeping a journal since I was 14. I also write fiction and poetry. I published my first collection of short stories, "Radiant Darkness" in 2000. I followed that up with my first collection of poetry in 2001 called "Journey without a Map." In 2008, I published "Persephone's Echo" another collection of poetry. Since then I've also published Emotional Espionage, The Way The Story Ended, My Perfect Drug and Out There. I have my BA in English from The Ohio State University at Mansfield and my MA in English Lit from The University of North Carolina at Greensboro. I also have my Post BA Certificate in Women's Studies. I am the mother of two beautiful children. :-)
This entry was posted in Literature/Pop Culture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

