Lizzie Silver of Sherwood Forest

Lizzie Silver of Sherwood Forest

Lizzie of Sherwood Forest

Lizzie Silver of Sherwood Forest by Marilyn Singer was another tale that inspired my imagination.  Lizzie of Sherwood Forest is a funny, touching sequel to Tarantulas on the Brain. 10-year-old Lizzie Silver can’t accept that her latest obsession, Robin Hood, is make-believe or that her friend is going to music school.  Lizzie hatches a plot to get into music school with her friend so she won’t have to be apart from her.

I read this book maybe a year or so after it came out.  It was published in 1986, but I think I discovered it the summer of 1987.  I’d heard of Robin Hood before, but something about Lizzie’s fascination made me fascinated as well.  I longed to go to a Renaissance Festival and pretend I was having adventures back in Robin Hood’s time. 

I remember getting back this strange picture from the drug store when I developed my role of film that summer.  It was a picture of a man and women dressed in a tunic and gown from a Renaissance Fair.  Their faces were dark and I couldn’t see who they were, but I guessed that it most likely a picture from someone else’s role of film.  As much as I wanted to go, I surely didn’t remember going.  But it made me curious who went and where they went though.

I researched Robin Hood after that and discovered that he most likely existed, but just not quite like the legends.  Still, the idea of living in the forest with my bow and arrow sounded fun.  I was able to get a hold of an old bow and buy some arrows made for target practice.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have anywhere to practice.  I shot my bow in arrow in my backyard sometimes, but I risked losing it on neighbor’s roofs and in trees.  Occasionally I would shoot it straight up and see how far it went and where it would land when I got tired of chasing it through my neighbor’s yards.  I couldn’t afford to take archery lessons like I wanted to, but it was still fun to play around with. I couldn’t afford horseback riding lessons either, but I was able to go riding a couple of times as a teenager.

Artemis

The author of Lizzie Silver of Sherwood Forest, Marilyn Singer was born in the Bronx (New York City) on October 3, 1948 and lived most of her early life in N. Massapequa (Long Island), NY. She attended Queens College, City University of New York, and for her junior year, Reading University, England. She holds a B.A. in English from Queens and an M.A. in Communications from New York University.

She another wonderful children’s book called The Golden Heart of Winter in 1992, which corresponded with my novella Ohio Brown and the Quest for the Golden Heart.

 Golden Heart of Winter

About carilynn27

Reading and writing and writing about reading are my passion. I've been keeping a journal since I was 14. I also write fiction and poetry. I published my first collection of short stories, "Radiant Darkness" in 2000. I followed that up with my first collection of poetry in 2001 called "Journey without a Map." In 2008, I published "Persephone's Echo" another collection of poetry. Since then I've also published Emotional Espionage, The Way The Story Ended, My Perfect Drug and Out There. I have my BA in English from The Ohio State University at Mansfield and my MA in English Lit from The University of North Carolina at Greensboro. I also have my Post BA Certificate in Women's Studies. I am the mother of two beautiful children. :-)
This entry was posted in History, Literature/Pop Culture and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

