Cloud Atlas And My Past Lives

May 24, 2013 Cloud Atlas

Cloud Atlas

    “Our lives are not our own. From womb to tomb we are bound to others.  Past and present. And by each crime and every kindness we birth our future” says Somni-451 in the movie Cloud Atlas.  I watched the DVD on Thursday.  The film came out in 2012 and stars Tom Hanks, Halle Berry, Hugo Weaving and Hugh Grant among many others.  It was directed by Lana and Andy Wachowski, who also did The Matrix. The movie is based on the book by David Mitchell, which came out in 2004.  The plot revolves around 6 interwoven stories: The South Pacific in 1849, England in 1936, San Francisco in 1973, The UK in 2012 and Neo Seoul in 2144.  The Big Island Story takes place 106 winters after the fall in 2321.  In the movie each actor plays several roles, as the stories are about reincarnation. I loved how the seemingly unrelated times and people were really all a part of one larger overarching plot.  And I love the theme of eternal love.  As Luisa Rey says, it is frustrating to make the same mistakes over and over again though.

I found the movie moving and thought provoking. Many critics were confused and thought it messy though.  It made me think about my own past lives.

Over the years I’ve meditated and worked on remembering the lives I might have lived before.  Thus far this is what I’ve come up with:

BC                   Lemuria: Psychic Map Maker

336 BC            Greece: Oracle of Delphi

30 BC              Egypt: Priest

BC to AD        The Qu’amran Sect

500s               Celtic Druid

930                  Welsh Lady

1000               Moorish Spain: Casilda

1185                Japanese Nara Period: Wife of Samurai

1220                Whirling Dervish

1300                Pre-Columbian Florida

1558-1580      Germany: Farmer’s Wife: Ana Bernard

1600                Colonial Peru: Incan Man

1780                 Spanish/English Pirate:  James Perez

1840-1888       Boston Massachusetts: Educated Woman and Wife

1890-1920       Russian Peasant: Gypsy

1924-1940       England During WWII: Amanda

About carilynn27

Reading and writing and writing about reading are my passion. I've been keeping a journal since I was 14. I also write fiction and poetry. I published my first collection of short stories, "Radiant Darkness" in 2000. I followed that up with my first collection of poetry in 2001 called "Journey without a Map." In 2008, I published "Persephone's Echo" another collection of poetry. Since then I've also published Emotional Espionage, The Way The Story Ended, My Perfect Drug and Out There. I have my BA in English from The Ohio State University at Mansfield and my MA in English Lit from The University of North Carolina at Greensboro. I also have my Post BA Certificate in Women's Studies. I am the mother of two beautiful children. :-)
This entry was posted in History, Literature/Pop Culture, Movies/TV, Religion, Science/Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

