The Collective I

Blank Tape

I’ve been making Music Compilations since about 1988, when I was 12.  When I was really little I owned a Holly Hobbie record player and bunch of 45s.  I couldn’t record music that way, but I did begin listening to it via turntable.  In any case, I first I feverishly recorded things off the radio and onto cassette tape throughout the late 80s. Then I moved onto recording tape to tape and CD to tape.  Eventually, I got all my music ripped to my computer and burned CDs around 2004.  I still don’t have an iPod or MP3 player, but I do have a rather vast musical library.  My tastes in music are quite varied.  Each title in my compilation can usually be prefaced by saying “I” or “I am” hence the idea of The Collective I.

Manic: 80s: Title from The Bangle’s Song “Manic Monday.”

Mad: 1987: Title from Belinda Carlisle song “Mad About You.”

Summer Rain: 1988: Title From Belinda Carlisle song “Summer Rain.”

Take Me Home: 80s and 90s Big Hair Bands. Title From Song “Take Me Home Tonight.”

Rush: 1990: Title From Paula Abdul’s song “Rush.”

Undone: 1991 and 1992: Title from Duran Duran’s hit “Undone.”

Stay: 1993. Title from Shakespeare’s Sister song “Stay.”

Secret: 1994: Title from Madonna’s hit “Secret.”

The Edge: 1995: Taken from The Edge Radio Station in Phoenix, Arizona. Alternative Rock.

Angst: 90s Alternative.

Nobody: 1995 and 1996: Taken from the song “Nobody Loves Me (Like You Do)”

Ironic: 1996: Title from Alanis Morrisette’s song.

Crush: 1997: From the song Crush.  Dance songs mostly.

Insomnia: 1997: From the Faithless song, “Insomnia.”

Torn: 1997: From the Natalie Imbrulia song.

Crazy: 1998:  Title taken from the Plumb song , “Crazy.”

Paranoid: 1998: Title from the Garbage song “Paranoid.”

Down: 1999: From the Jewel song and Sheryl Crow songs “Down.”

Believe: 1999: Latin and Dance flavored mix with Cher’s song “Believe” inspiring the title.

Desire: 2000: From Amber’s song, “Desire.”

Wild: 2001: From Poe’s Song, “Wild.”

Silence:2001: From Sarah McLaughlin’s song with Delirium, “Silence.”

Steady: 2002: From No Doubt’s song “Rock Steady.”

Rapture: 2002: All Trance Songs. Iio’s song Rapture inspired the title.

Irresistible: 2002: From Jessica Simpson and The Corr’s songs “Irresistible.”

Dirty: 2003: From Christina Aguilera’s song “Dirty.”

Burn: 2003: From Creo Infectious Dance Song, “Burn For You”

Stupid: 2004: From Sarah McLaughlin’s song “Stupid.”

Fallen: 2004: From Sarah McLaughlin’s song “Fallen.”

Breakaway: 2005: From Kelly Clarkson’s song “Breakaway.”

Broken: 2005: From Seether and Amy Lee’s song, “Broken.” As well as Greenday “Blvd of Broken Dreams.”

Cold: 2006: Taken from Crossfate’s song, “Cold.”

Hot and Super proved to be unsatisfactory and later tossed out and remixed into other compilations.

Cut: 2012: Taken from Plumb’s song, “Cut.”

Awake: 2012: Taken from Katy Perry’s song, “Wide Awake.”

Dark: 2013: Gothic Rock

Sweet: 2013: Dance.

You: 2008-2013: Country and Pop. Title from Tara McLean song.

Tessellate: Song from Alt-J’s song “Tessellate.”

Home: 2013: From Phillip Phillip’s song “Home.”

Shocked: 2013

Truly, Madly, Deeply: Love Songs

Love Hurts: Break-Up Songs

untitled

About carilynn27

Reading and writing and writing about reading are my passion. I've been keeping a journal since I was 14. I also write fiction and poetry. I published my first collection of short stories, "Radiant Darkness" in 2000. I followed that up with my first collection of poetry in 2001 called "Journey without a Map." In 2008, I published "Persephone's Echo" another collection of poetry. Since then I've also published Emotional Espionage, The Way The Story Ended, My Perfect Drug and Out There. I have my BA in English from The Ohio State University at Mansfield and my MA in English Lit from The University of North Carolina at Greensboro. I also have my Post BA Certificate in Women's Studies. I am the mother of two beautiful children. :-)
This entry was posted in Culture, Flashback, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Collective I

  1. Paul Phillip says:

    cool mix tape list. keep it up.

Leave a Reply

