Revolution

November 5, 2013 Revolution Revolution Logo

 “To women everywhere—the Revolution starts at home,” says Pink on the sleeve of her 2003 CD Try This.  This week I got Try This, I’m Not Dead and Funhouse from the library.  I needed them to complete my Pink Compilation.  I also got Revolution Season 1 DVD to watch. I caught a few episodes via internet  last fall, but wasn’t able to keep up on the JJ Abrams hit.

While some have compared the series to the novels Dies the Fire and The Hunger Games, others are quick to draw parallels to Lost.  They call it Cowboys and Indians, but they don’t go back far enough.  How can nobody see the parallels to the American Revolution that ended in 1776?

James Monroe

First, we have the Monroe Republic lead by Sebastian Monroe, who seems to be a reference to the found father James Monroe. Monroe was also the 5th President of the USA. Monroe fought in the Revolution and became the Governor of Virginia, then ambassador to France and eventually the Secretary of State and of War.  He is perhaps best known for the Monroe Doctrine, which announced America’s isolation from European affairs. Europe was to keep its nose out of America’s affairs, while America promised to no longer interfere with European affairs.

Myles Standish

Second, we have Miles Matheson, who recalls Myles Standish, or Miles, as it is sometimes spelled.  He was a military leader. Henry Wadsworth Longfellow portrayed the protector of the Plymouth Colony as a timid romantic.  Miles traveled to London to settle the debt incurred by the colonists to the Merchant Adventures. Though not successful in his mission, he returned to become a surveyor of highways and to serve as treasurer.  He is perhaps most famous for his brutal, but effective, defense of the Plymouth Colony.  He became a folk hero to Americans in the 1800s.

Ben Matheson may be a reference to Benjamin Franklin, but I’m not sure. Since we know so little of the character, it is difficult to draw parallels.

ben-affleck-300

I was amused that the CaliforniaCommonwealth was run by Governor Affleck.  Ben Affleck has mentioned wanting to run for office in several interviews and Ben is connected to JJ Abrams via Jennifer Garner of Alias. And I think that it is NO coincidence that Tracy Spiridakos, who plays Charlie, looks a bit like Jennifer Garner.  She has the same square jaw and the same build as Jennifer Garner did when she played Sydney Bristow.

Other things I noticed: The use of biblical names like Rachel, Aaron, Thomas, Daniel, Jason, Benjamin and Grace.  Also Stephen King was featured predominately in a scene set in a library.  Then Rachel keeps mentioning a place called, “The Tower.”

Dark Tower

My conclusion? That Revolution is a reflection of history as much as it is a dystopian future.  Perhaps the USA is heading full circle—forced to confront its troubled past before it can move forward.  So yes, it parallels Lost.  Only the island is the whole USA and our redemption lies in the ruins of our once great civilization.

Now, back to watching Revolution before bed!

imagesCAFRKXTU

About carilynn27

Reading and writing and writing about reading are my passion. I've been keeping a journal since I was 14. I also write fiction and poetry. I published my first collection of short stories, "Radiant Darkness" in 2000. I followed that up with my first collection of poetry in 2001 called "Journey without a Map." In 2008, I published "Persephone's Echo" another collection of poetry. Since then I've also published Emotional Espionage, The Way The Story Ended, My Perfect Drug and Out There. I have my BA in English from The Ohio State University at Mansfield and my MA in English Lit from The University of North Carolina at Greensboro. I also have my Post BA Certificate in Women's Studies. I am the mother of two beautiful children. :-)
This entry was posted in History, Literature/Pop Culture, Lost, Movies/TV, Politics/Economics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

