My Style: Then And Now

 

September 29, 2004

1990-1992_0004 (2)I wore loose fitting clothes back in High School because I was self-conscious. I wore little or no make-up and the girls kept asking if I just wasn’t allowed to or what. I told them I was allowed to, but I just didn’t want to wear make-up. I used to wear some in college, but I can’t afford to buy anything to replace the old stuff I once had. It’s not like I need to look sexy or attractive to anyone. I have a husband and child now.

Clothes wise, I got hand me downs and a handful of new outfits every so often. Mostly the new clothes were things that Mom, Grandma or whomever picked out for me. I never had a chance to create or develop my own style.

Pretty in PinkI never wore a bra. With my A or B cup, I didn’t really need one. I felt confined and the straps irritated my skin. The bras I had were cheap or old anyway and didn’t fit right. It wasn’t until I began working at Barnes and Noble and I began to dress professionally that I needed to wear bras on a regular basis.

I wore the loose clothes to hide my breasts and now I often do the same thing, but only because I jumped from a B cup in High School to C cup in College to a D cup during and after pregnancy. Why women get implants I’ll never understand! I miss my bra-less and carefree days. A C cup is plenty and a D cup is too big for me. Too big for my frame I think.

I remember a few styles I liked over the years. I liked to wear biker shorts or Lycra shorts with a long T-shirt over them. I also liked the stir-up pants and long sweaters when they were popular. They were comfortable.

1993-1994_0012

Nothing beats a good pair of jeans and a T-shirt though. That is a classic look that never goes out of style. Now Jeans and T-Shirts themselves do change. High waists were popular in the early 90s. Now it all about hiphuggers and low riders. Acid wash is fashion suicide now, but it was once hot. Bell bottoms were hot then, then not and now they are still fairly popular.

Capri pants were stylish in the past. They left the fashion world during the 70s, 80s and 90s. Now in the 2000s, they are in again. I personally think they look cute, but not on me. Capri pants often just look like ill fitting pants on me. They look too long to be Capri on my short legs but too short to be regular pants.

Always hated shoulder pads. I am happy to see those are gone!

All BusinessPant suites and stylish business attire for women I do like

Earrings…I never wear earrings anymore. I lost most of my old ones and can’t afford new one. For awhile hoops ad dangly ones were in. I liked that. Then tiny ones made a comeback. That is part of the reason I never picked up more earrings. I see more hoops now. I would like to buy some—but Ana would just pull them off. And I still can’t afford them. Maybe later.

Cari Bollywood Burn

My style? Over all? Comfort is still important. Mom always dressed comfortably. Unlike Mom, I’ve found stylish dress-up clothes comfortable as well. You can feel comfortable and sexy in something besides jeans. I like looking sexy. But rather than go for trendy, I go for classic. A simple black dress. Black slacks and a nice shirt or blouse. I like skirts, but nothing mini. I like mid-length or broomstick skirts. Broomstick skirts my not be “in” right now, but I still like how they look. I like flowing skirts and dresses.

2006 Spring2

Colors? Cool blues and purples. Blacks, browns and beige are also good. With my pale complexion and light hair I find that reds and pinks don’t often suit me. I remember in College going through my closet and getting rid of all the pinks I’d been given. Now, I do own a few item that are pink again, but not much. Plaids and stripes suite me sometimes. I don’t like plunging necklines that go all the way to the navel.

I do like to show off some cleavage, but more in the form of a push-up corset.I tend to wear high cut briefs. Never been fond of full briefs or bikinis either one. And I really don’t understand g-strings. It feels like a constant wedgie.

High 5

 

About carilynn27

Reading and writing and writing about reading are my passion. I've been keeping a journal since I was 14. I also write fiction and poetry. I published my first collection of short stories, "Radiant Darkness" in 2000. I followed that up with my first collection of poetry in 2001 called "Journey without a Map." In 2008, I published "Persephone's Echo" another collection of poetry. Since then I've also published Emotional Espionage, The Way The Story Ended, My Perfect Drug and Out There. I have my BA in English from The Ohio State University at Mansfield and my MA in English Lit from The University of North Carolina at Greensboro. I also have my Post BA Certificate in Women's Studies. I am the mother of two beautiful children. :-)
This entry was posted in Culture, Flashback and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

