Gone

May 14, 2014 Gone

11176198_800

Gone Baby Gone is the title of a novel by Dennis Lehane and a movie based on the book, which is directed by Ben Affleck. The book came out in 1998—the movie not until 2007. I watched the movie this week, which made me request the book from the library.

The story is about a missing child, but more so about parenthood and ethical dilemmas. Does giving birth to someone really make you their mother is it more about who loves the child most? The movie gave me lots to ponder this mother’s day.

gone-baby-gone-3

As a mother, I can imagine the pain of losing a child. However, if given Detective Patrick Kenzie’s dilemma, I would let baby Amanda stay where she was rather than return her to her incredibly selfish mother. I’ve seen the damage that parents inflict on their own flesh and blood. DNA doesn’t demand that parents own their children like property. Any woman can give birth, but not every woman has it in her to be a mother. Motherhood, despite popular belief does not come naturally. The law is supposed to protect children from neglect and abuse, but it doesn’t always succeed.

So my question is why follow a law that will do more harm than good? If given the choice between going by the book or breaking the law for the greater good, I will always choose the greater good. If a rule or law doesn’t serve the greater good, then it doesn’t do its job.

Gone-Girl-2014-film-poster

I also started reading Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. It is about a wife who disappears on her 5th wedding anniversary. And it is soon to be a movie staring Ben Affleck. Gone Girl‘s theme is the dark side of marriage. It doesn’t really deal with children and motherhood, but the movie Save the Date does.

Liz Kaplin plays a young woman who is fiercely independent. She rejects a marriage proposal and ends the relationship she was in. Then she falls in love on the rebound and ends up unintentionally pregnant. Despite her ant-establishment views, we see her ready to give motherhood a chance in the end. It is a modern story and realistic in many ways.

images (1)

About carilynn27

Reading and writing and writing about reading are my passion. I've been keeping a journal since I was 14. I also write fiction and poetry. I published my first collection of short stories, "Radiant Darkness" in 2000. I followed that up with my first collection of poetry in 2001 called "Journey without a Map." In 2008, I published "Persephone's Echo" another collection of poetry. Since then I've also published Emotional Espionage, The Way The Story Ended, My Perfect Drug and Out There. I have my BA in English from The Ohio State University at Mansfield and my MA in English Lit from The University of North Carolina at Greensboro. I also have my Post BA Certificate in Women's Studies. I am the mother of two beautiful children. :-)
This entry was posted in Literature/Pop Culture, Movies/TV, Science/Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

