Golden Reading

Golden Library Young Adult Recommendations

Historical

Queen of Hearts by Martha Brooks

The Dark Unwinding by Sharon Cameron

Deadly by Julie Chibbaro

Phantom in the Snow by Kathleen Benner Duble

Caleb’s Wars by David L Dudley

The Traitor’s Smiles by Patricia Elliot

Mister Death’s Blue Eyed Girls by Mary Downing Hahn

Keeping the Castle by Patricia Kindl

Battle Fatigue by Mark Kurlansky

Dead Reckoning by Mercedes Lackey and Rosemary Edgehill

Springsweet by Saundra Mitchell

An Elephant in the Garden by Michael Morporgu

Life: An Exploded Diagram by Mal Peet

Dodge by Terry Pratchet

Between Shades by Ruta Septys

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

The Watch That Ends the Night by Allan Wolf

 

Science Fiction

Enclave by Ann Aguirre

Ultraviolet by RJ Anderson

The Drowned Cities by Paolo Bacigalupi

The Darkest Minds by by Alexandra Bracken

The Way We Fall by Megan Crewe

Insignia by SJ Kincaid

Monument 14 by Emmy Laybourne

Planesrunner by Ian McDonald

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Pandemonium by Lawrence Oliver

Starters by Lisa Price

Virals by Kathy Reichs

Vesper by Jeff Sampson

Variant by Robinson Wells

 

Fantasy

Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

Sorrow’s Knot by Erin Bow

Taken by Erin Bowman

Etiquette and Espionage by Gail Carriger

Towering by Alex Finn

City of a Thousand Dolls by Miriam Forester

Fireborn by Toby Forward

Seraphina by Rachel Hartman

Lost Prince by Julia Kagawa

Enchanted by Alethea Kontis

Defy by Sara B Larson

Every Day by David Leviathan

Prophecy by Ellen Oh

Battle Magic by Tamora Peirce

Unnatural Creatures ed by Neil Gaiman

 

LGBT

I Am by Cris Beam

Happy Families by Tanita S Davis

Tessa Masterson Will Go To Prom by Emil Franklin

The Difference between You and Me by Madeline George

Being Emily by Rachel Benson Gold

Sister Mischief by Laura Goode

Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green

Shadow Walkers by Brent Hartinger

A Love Story Staring My Dead Best Friend by Emily Horner

Howe Beautiful The Ordinary ed by Michael Cart

Totally Joe by James How

Ash by Malinda Lo

Shine by Laura Myracle

Putting Make-Up on the Fat Boy by Bill Wright

The Letter Q by Sarah Moon and James Lecesne

Wandering Son Vol 1 by Shimura Takoko

About carilynn27

Reading and writing and writing about reading are my passion. I've been keeping a journal since I was 14. I also write fiction and poetry. I published my first collection of short stories, "Radiant Darkness" in 2000. I followed that up with my first collection of poetry in 2001 called "Journey without a Map." In 2008, I published "Persephone's Echo" another collection of poetry. Since then I've also published Emotional Espionage, The Way The Story Ended, My Perfect Drug and Out There. I have my BA in English from The Ohio State University at Mansfield and my MA in English Lit from The University of North Carolina at Greensboro. I also have my Post BA Certificate in Women's Studies. I am the mother of two beautiful children. :-)
This entry was posted in Literature/Pop Culture, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Golden Reading

  1. Janalee Smith says:

    Have you read any of these? Do you recommend any of these in particular?

  2. carilynn27 says:

    Virals by Kathy Reichs and Etiquette and Espionage by Gail Carriger are two good ones.

Leave a Reply

