Sehnsucht

Sehnsucht

A Dark Muse History

I was reading A Dark Muse: The History of the Occult when I stumbled upon the term Sehnsucht.  Though I’d seen it before in the book The Quest For Christa T by Christa Wolfe and on my CD by Rammstein, it took on a new significance to me. It seemed to encapsulate all that felt that summer of 2005.

Quest For Christa T

Sehnsucht is the German word for longing.  But the word encapsulates not just yearning.  It is a romantic notion of desire and its persistence in our lives.  It represents a distant mountain peak or a beautiful sunset on the distant horizon.  It is a sort of acceptance or decided desire for something that is unreachable or unobtainable.

Rammstein

Sehnsucht took on a particular significance in the work of author C. S. Lewis. Lewis described Sehnsucht as the “inconsolable longing” in the human heart for “we know not what.”  Thought I had not read his nonfiction writing, I had been a fan of the Chronicles of Narnia since I was a child.  Perhaps part of my connection to his books was the subtext of Sehnsucht even his fiction.

Blue rose Black edge

Later, I discovered that I discovered the association between Sehnsucht and Blue Roses. Due to the absence in nature of blue roses they have come to symbolize mystery and longing to attain the impossible. However, the symbolism extends beyond roses.  A blue flower in general (German: Blaue Blume) is a central symbol of inspiration. It stands for desire, love, and the metaphysical striving for the infinite and unreachable. It symbolizes the beauty of things.

Fascinated by the symbolism, I used it to frame story I wrote about a relationship filled with Sehnsucht.  I’ve since posted the three parts of the story on The Writer’s Café, where I post all of my poetry and fiction.  Here is the link to the story:

http://www.writerscafe.org/writing/carilynn27/596057/

About carilynn27

Reading and writing and writing about reading are my passion. I've been keeping a journal since I was 14. I also write fiction and poetry. I published my first collection of short stories, "Radiant Darkness" in 2000. I followed that up with my first collection of poetry in 2001 called "Journey without a Map." In 2008, I published "Persephone's Echo" another collection of poetry. Since then I've also published Emotional Espionage, The Way The Story Ended, My Perfect Drug and Out There. I have my BA in English from The Ohio State University at Mansfield and my MA in English Lit from The University of North Carolina at Greensboro. I also have my Post BA Certificate in Women's Studies. I am the mother of two beautiful children. :-)
This entry was posted in Literature/Pop Culture, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

